02.25.13 | Kristina Portrait; Highlights

Lookbook Collection 1000

In getting back to basic lighting, I attempted to create a ring flash effect with my tungsten lights. A ring flash, used in many glamour images, is used to create and even, flat complexion. I attempted to add reflectors to all sides and above and below my key lighting, which I did not diffuse. I did add an element of highlights to her hair from directly behind.

Kristina Portrait

While there is a little more shadowing on Kristina’s face than I would’ve liked, I think the image came out balanced and the highlights added a nice halo effect to her hairline. I also shot this image at a high ISO setting of 1600, creating a grainy effect which adds a nice grading to the highlights in the image and her shadows.

Leave a Reply

